Musées de Marseille
CASE STUDY

Digitisation at your premises

The Marseille Museums benefit form a shared digitization workshop

Context

The nine museums of the City of Marseille present a selection of artworks from eleven collections. These collections give you the chance to discover a wide range of disciplines, periods and cultures and bring together more than 100, 000 artworks.
In 2009, curators Annie Philippon and Benoit Coutancier, created the collections department with the aim of monitoring transversal missions common to all museums (inventory, proofing, digitization, etc.). The digitization of collections allows museums to initially enrich their digital collection management software and then their digital databases.
It is also a way to help and support the digital revolution of the city’s museums.

The collections Department have decided, for practical reasons, to have all the digitization operations carried out in Marseille and not in the service provider’s workshops. A prior step of pooling all the needs is done before each campaign.

Marie Villajos

Assistant curator of the collections of Marseille’s museums

Challenges

For the digitization campaigns of its collections, the city has decided to consolidate the needs of its various museums in order to share the costs. Marie Villajos tells us the approach implemented.
Once the collections to be digitized and the service provider have been chosen, the teams from each museum bring the documents to the Heritage Museum Conservation Offices, that is to say the shared reserves of the Marseille Museums, which host the digitization projects.
With its 6,000 square meter warehouse, the Heritage Museum Conservation Office can keep all the selected documents in the stores surrounding the digitization workshop for the duration of the contract. The wide range of documentation to be digitized and their formats has led the service provider Arkhênum to install two types of scanners on site to cover all needs: a Digibook with a book holder and a scanner for phototypes.

Service des Musées de Marseille Centre de la vieille Charité
Robert Hubert, La maison de campagne

In situ digitization: responsiveness and efficiency

Digitization can save time

The first digitization campaign in 2011 focused mainly on the assets’ inventory records, the museums’ daily work tools. Following this operation, the inventory registers were put online in the intranet and were accessible in PDF format for all the teams. This has helped various teams save precious time and avoid handling documents that are sometimes fragile.
The extension of the project for two additional years enabled to focus on the digitization of the collections themselves: photographic prints, glass plates, drawings and prints, annals, old manuscripts, plans, drawing, …

 

The added value of a service performed on the client’s premises is the facilitated interaction between the scanning operator and the collections department employees. Marie Villajos sees many benefits to this on-site delivery formula: “Having a workshop close to our services grants us a great reactiveness and a beneficial interaction with Arkhênum either at the requests level for the treatment of very specific documents or during the phase of control which can be done as the project advances. »

9

Marseille city museums pool their needs to digitize their documents in a unique place, the Marseille Museum warehouse.

12 000

images are produced every year of any kind of documents: photographic prints, glass plates, drawings, prints, old manuscripts, annals…

Service des Musées de Marseille
Centre de la Vieille Charité – 13002 Marseille
Tel : +33 (0)4 91 14 58 80
Managing Director of Museums: Christine Poullain
Collections Service Manager: Annie Philippon
Website: http://www.musees.marseille.fr

Digital images open up new perspectives

These digitization campaigns have been renewed for the third year in a row.
The intended use of these digital images, combined with metadata, are already numerous and with high added value: fragile documents are preserved, requests from researchers are easier to satisfy, the integration of images in catalogues and communication tools of the city made easy. For example, multimedia and mobile applications using images from campaigns are already available at the Museum of Mediterranean Archeology with the installation of interactive tiles around the Egyptian Collection.
Others projects are already planned for the next few years.

Download the practical case

Want to know how to achieve your objectives? Let’s discuss!

Select your need(s) Next

All fields marked with * are mandatory Back

Musées de Marseille
ETUDE DE CAS

Numérisation en vos locaux

Les Musées de Marseille se dotent d’un atelier de numérisation mutualisé

Contexte

Les musées de la Ville de Marseille, ce sont neuf sites répartis dans la ville qui présentent une sélection d’oeuvres choisies parmi onze fonds. Les collections proposent la découverte d’un large éventail de disciplines, de périodes et de cultures et rassemblent plus de 100 000 oeuvres.
En 2009, Annie Philippon et Benoit Coutancier, conservateurs, ont créé le service des collections avec pour objectif le pilotage de missions transversales et communes à tous les musées (inventaire, récolement, numérisation, etc.). La numérisation des collections permet aux musées d’abonder dans un premier temps le logiciel de gestion des collections puis les bases de données numériques.
Mais c’est également un moyen d’accompagner et soutenir la révolution numérique des musées de la ville.

Le service des collections a décidé pour des raisons pratiques de faire réaliser à Marseille et non dans les ateliers du prestataire l’ensemble des opérations de numérisation. Une étape préalable de mise en commun de l’ensemble des besoins est effectuée avant chaque campagne.

Marie Villajos

Assistante de conservation Service des collections Musées de Marseille

Challenges

Pour les campagnes de numérisation de ses collections, la ville a souhaité regrouper les besoins de ses différents musées pour mutualiser les coûts. Marie Villajos nous relate la démarche mise en oeuvre.
Une fois le choix des fonds à numériser et du prestataire faits, les équipes de chaque musée apportent les documents au sein des locaux de la Conservation du patrimoine des musées, c’est-à-dire les réserves mutualisées des musées de Marseille, qui accueillent le chantier de numérisation ».
Grâce à ses 6 000 mètres carrés de réserve, la Conservation du patrimoine des musées peut conserver tous les documents sélectionnés dans des magasins adjacents à l’atelier de numérisation installé in situ pour la durée du marché. La grande variété des fonds à numériser et leurs formats a amené le prestataire de service Arkhênum à installer sur place deux typologies de scanner pour couvrir l’ensemble des besoins : un Digibook avec plateau et balance porte-livre et un scanner pour les phototypes.

Service des Musées de Marseille Centre de la vieille Charité
Robert Hubert, La maison de campagne

Numérisation in situ : réactivité et efficience

La numérisation peut être synonyme de gain de temps

La première campagne de numérisation en 2011 a essentiellement concerné les registres d’inventaire des collections, outils de travail quotidiens des musées. Suite à cette opération, les registres d’inventaire ont pu être mis en ligne en réseau et être accessibles sous format PDF pour toutes les équipes. Ceci a permis aux diverses équipes de gagner un temps précieux, tout en évitant de manipuler trop souvent des documents parfois fragiles.
Les deux années de reconduction du projet se sont attachées à numériser les collections en elles-mêmes : tirages photographiques, plaques de verre, dessins et estampes, annales, manuscrits anciens, plans, dessins d’orfèvres…

 

La valeur ajoutée par une prestation réalisée dans les locaux du client se trouve dans l’interaction facilitée entre l’opérateur et le service des collections. Marie Villajos voit de nombreux avantages à cette formule de prestation sur site : « Le fait d’avoir un atelier à proximité de nos services nous offre une grande réactivité et une interaction bénéfique avec l’opérateur d’Arkhênum que ce soit au niveau des demandes pour le traitement de documents bien spécifiques ou bien lors de la phase de contrôle qui peut s’effectuer au fur et à mesure du projet par exemple. »

9

musées de la ville de Marseille mutualisent leurs besoins pour faire numériser leurs fonds en un lieu unique, la réserve des musées de Marseille.

12 000

vues sont réalisées chaque année de tout type de fonds : tirages photographiques, plaques de verre, dessins, estampes, manuscrits anciens, annales…

Service des Musées de Marseille
Centre de la Vieille Charité – 13002 Marseille
Tel : +33 (0)4 91 14 58 80
Directrice des musées : Christine Poullain
Responsable du service des collections : Annie Philippon
Site internet : http://www.musees.marseille.fr

Les images numériques ouvrent de nouvelles perspectives

Ces campagnes de numérisation sont reconduites pour la troisième année consécutive.
Les utilisations prévues de ces images numériques, associées à des métadonnées, sont déjà nombreuses et à forte valeur ajoutée : documents fragiles conservés, demandes de chercheurs plus simples à satisfaire, intégration des images dans les catalogues et outils de communication de la ville. Des applications multimédias et mobiles utilisant des images issues des campagnes sont déjà disponibles par
exemple au Musée d’archéologie méditerranéenne avec l’installation de dalles interactives autour de la collection égyptienne.
Plusieurs autres projets sont déjà prévus pour les prochaines années.

Télécharger le cas pratique

Vous souhaitez savoir comment atteindre vos objectifs ? Discutons en

Sélectionnez votre / vos besoin(s) suivant

Tous les champs marqués d'une * sont obligatoires Précédent