CASE STUDY

Valuing your heritage

INHA promotes the collections of its library

Context

The National Institute of Art History (INHA) was created in 2001 as a public institution under the joint supervision of the ministers responsible for higher education, research and culture. The Institute’s mission is to develop scientific activity and contribute to international scientific cooperation in the field of art history and heritage.
In this perspective of knowledge dissemination, the Library of the INHA-collections Jacques Doucet offers to the consultation, in the Ovale room of the Richelieu quadrilateral in Paris, 1.4 million documents of all types, described in its catalogue and in the inventories of heritage funds.

Only a small part of these funds has been digitized for the moment.
(600,000 images in total, of which 550,000 can be consulted online, i.e. about 15,000 documents).

Anne Weber

IT documentary and digitization manager

Challenges

It is to promote these exceptional collections, but also to facilitate their consultation and preservation that the INHA Library started its digitization program in 2002, and put in service a digital library in 2006.
“Since 2002-2003, we have implemented a digitization program for our collections. We selected the documents to be digitized according to several criteria and in particular their interest for research in the history of art and archaeology, as well as their rarity.
To enrich further this digital library, important digitization programs are in progress (several hundred collections of ornaments, several thousand catalogues of art sales, …). This is why an interface allowing a simple management of the online collections line and, for the end-users, an effective search and a pleasant consultation, is essential”.

Bibliothèque de l’INHA

INHA chose Limb Gallery to highlight its collections

Benefits of the chosen solution

The choice of Limb Gallery for the digital library of INHA is explained by the many visualization and consultation features offered by this solution. The fluidity of the zoom and the ability to view and download the images and text are particularly popular with users.
Beyond the visual aspect, it is the power of the solution (search engine with auto-completion and preview of the results, facets, walls of 3D images, geo-referencing …) and its constant developments which seduced the INHA.
On the other hand, the permalinks generated by the solution make it easy to share the digitized documents. Embedded in online catalogue records, they improve the visibility of the digital library.

15 000

documents are available online in the digital library: books and prints, autographs, drawings,
photographs, ...

35,84%

of visitors regularly visit the INHA digital library.

INSTITUT NATIONAL DE L’HISTOIRE DE L’ART
2, rue Vivienne, 75002 paris – France
Telephone: +33 (0)1 47 03 89 00 / E-mail : inha@inha.fr
Director of the library: Martine Poulain
Website: http://www.inha.fr
Digital library: http://bibliotheque-numerique.inha.fr

Results

For the past 3 years, the digital library of INHA has continued to see its traffic increase. On average, 500 visitors visit it each day and stay longer than 4 minutes *. Thanks to the efficient back office of the digital library, INHA can continue to supply its digital library regularly and independently: about 100 new documents are put online each month.

Download the practical case

Want to know how to achieve your objectives? Let’s discuss!

Select your need(s) Next

All fields marked with * are mandatory Back

ETUDE DE CAS

Valoriser votre patrimoine

L’INHA valorise les fonds de sa bibliothèque

Contexte

L’Institut National d’Histoire de l’Art (INHA) a été créé en 2001 sous la forme d’un établissement public sous la tutelle conjointe des ministres chargés de l’enseignement supérieur, de la recherche et de la culture. L’Institut a pour mission de développer l’activité scientifique et de contribuer à la coopération scientifique internationale dans le domaine de l’histoire de l’art et du patrimoine.
Dans cette optique de diffusion des connaissances, la Bibliothèque de l’INHA-collections Jacques Doucet propose à la consultation, dans la salle Ovale du quadrilatère Richelieu à Paris, 1,4 million de documents de tous types, décrits dans son catalogue et dans les inventaires des fonds patrimoniaux.

Seule une petite partie de ces fonds a été numérisée pour le moment
(600 000 images au total dont 550 000 consultables en ligne, soit 15 000 documents environ).

Anne Weber

Responsable informatique documentaire et numérisation

Challenges

C’est pour promouvoir ces fonds exceptionnels, mais aussi pour en faciliter la consultation et la conservation que la Bibliothèque de l’INHA s’est lancée dès 2002 dans la numérisation, et a mis en service une bibliothèque numérique en 2006.
« Dès 2002-2003, nous avons mis en place un programme de numérisation de nos fonds. Nous avons sélectionné les documents à numériser en fonction de plusieurs critères et notamment leur intérêt
pour la recherche en histoire de l’art et archéologie ainsi que leur rareté.
Pour alimenter cette bibliothèque numérique, d’importants programmes de numérisation sont en cours (plusieurs centaines de recueils d’ornements, plusieurs milliers de catalogues de ventes d’oeuvres d’art, …). C’est pourquoi une interface permettant une gestion simple de la mise en ligne et, pour les internautes, une recherche efficace et une consultation agréable, est indispensable ».

Bibliothèque de l’INHA

L’INHA a choisi YooLib / Limb Gallery pour mettre en avant ses collections

Bénéfices de la solution retenue

Le choix de YooLib / Limb Gallery pour la bibliothèque numérique de l’INHA s’explique par les nombreuses fonctionnalités de visualisation et de consultation offertes par cette solution. La fluidité du zoom et la possibilité de consulter et télécharger les imprimés en modes image et texte sont particulièrement plébiscités par les utilisateurs.
Par-delà l’aspect visuel, c’est la puissance de la solution (moteur de recherche avec auto-complétion et prévisualisation des résultats, facettes, murs d’images 3D, géo-référencement …) et les développements
constants dont elle fait l’objet qui ont séduit l’INHA.
D’autre part, les permaliens générés par la solution permettent de citer facilement les documents numérisés. Intégrés dans les notices du catalogue en ligne, ils améliorent la visibilité de la bibliothèque
numérique.

15 000

documents mis en ligne dans la bibliothèque numérique : livres et estampes, autographes, dessins,
photographies…

35,84%

des visiteurs reviennent sur le site de la bibliothèque numérique de l’Institut National de l’Histoire de l’Art.

INSTITUT NATIONAL DE L’HISTOIRE DE L’ART
2, rue Vivienne, 75002 paris – France
Tel : +33 (0)1 47 03 89 00 / E-mail : inha@inha.fr
Directrice de la bibliothèque : Martine Poulain
Site internet : http://www.inha.fr
Bibliothèque numérique : http:/bibliothèque-numerique.inha.fr

Résultats

Depuis 3 ans, la bibliothèque numérique de l’INHA n’a cessé de voir son trafic augmenter. 500 visiteurs s’y rendent en moyenne chaque jour et y restent plus de 4 minutes*.
Grâce à l’efficacité du back-office de la bibliothèque numérique, l’INHA peut continuer à alimenter régulièrement et en toute autonomie sa bibliothèque numérique : environ 100 nouveaux documents
sont mis en ligne chaque mois.

Télécharger le cas pratique

Vous souhaitez savoir comment atteindre vos objectifs ? Discutons en

Sélectionnez votre / vos besoin(s) suivant

Tous les champs marqués d'une * sont obligatoires Précédent