Cirdoc
CASE STUDY

DIGITIZE TO SHARE BETTER

CIRDOC promotes a heritage
spread over 10 European regions

Context

Based in Béziers, CIRDOC is not only a public media library, but also a heritage library that acts to promote the Occitan language and culture. Starting as a foundation, this organization became a public institution in 1999 and inherited more than 100 000 documents, mainly coming from donations.

The institution retains documents dating from the 13th century to the present day, on all formats, including audio, video, manuscripts, printed documents (the latter 2 constituting the majority of the collections).

Benjamin Assié, curator of this inter-regional organization, explains his work, which consists of studying and promoting a heritage that is common to 10 European regions (8 French regions, 1 Italian region, 1 Spanish region) which share an Occitan culture.

This institution’s fundamental purpose is to represent and promote the Occitan language and culture among the widest possible audience. This is an ambitious objective as the CIRDOC itself is only present on one site (Béziers) that isn’t a regional capital. For this bet to be successful, Internet was the solution that enabled us to inform and present the richness of this culture and the documentation linked to Occitania by abolishing geographical and physical constraints.

Benjamin Assié

CIRDOC curator

Challenges

Before the launch of this virtual digital library, we had to set up an ambitious digitization program that integrated documents present in all the regions.
The Occitanica project was launched and financed by the Languedoc-Roussillon region and by the town of Bézier, both entities at the CIRDOC’s origin, and received support from the Ministry of Culture as well as the Aquitaine, Midi-Pyrénées, Rhône-Alpes and Poitou-Charentes regions. The CIRDOC used Arkhênum’s services as early as 2009, not only to digitize its own assets but also those of partner institutions.

CIRDOC

Digitize to better share

The CIRDOC digitizes 100 000 pages per year

The digitization of documents, in partnership with the institutions from all the regions, inevitably generated some complexity in terms of implementation and management of the service delivery. The CIRDOC therefore entrusted Arkhênum to manage the gathering of assets spread geographically, to manage those assets in its various digitization centers as well as to manage the post-treatment of the images and data.
This multiplicity of organisations naturally meant duplicate files with specific needs (MIX files, interior and exterior cropping, OCR Alto and OCR in Occitan…).
Arkhênum managed this operation from the beginning; its goal was to upload this data in a collective digital library.
To keep the momentum going and involve the users even more, the CIRDOC set up an “on demand digitization” for researchers, to let them decide which assets would be digitized in the future.

100 000

unique visitors recorded during the first year for the www.occitanica.eu.

+20%

Increase in physical visitors at the Béziers library, mainly thanks to www.occitanica.eu according to Benjamin Assié, its curator.

Lo CIRDOC
(Centre interrégional de développement de l’occitan)
1 bis boulevard Du-Guesclin, BP. 180 – 34503 Béziers – France
Tel : +33 (0)4 67 11 85 10
E-mail : secretariat@cirdoc.fr
Directeur : Benjamin Assié
Site internet : http://www.locirdoc.fr

Contract fulfilled!

The biggest reward comes from the fact that people who are foreign to the Occitan language and culture come to discover them in person or online. But of course, the Occitans are the first ones to celebrate this universal showcase of their heritage.
They express their satisfaction not only during their visits to the library, but also on the Center’s social networks (Facebook, twitter).
Faced with the success of this dynamic policy, local officials have decided to show renewed confidence in the institution and in the resources committed in the past. The press echoes their sentiments and the references on the Occitanica website are growing, which contributes to its increased visibility and closes the virtuous circle.

Download the practical case

Want to know how to achieve your objectives? Let’s discuss!

Select your need(s) Next

All fields marked with * are mandatory Back

Cirdoc
ETUDE DE CAS

NUMÉRISER POUR MIEUX VALORISER

Le CIRDOC valorise un patrimoine
réparti sur 10 régions européennes

Contexte

Le CIRDOC, basé à Béziers, est une Médiathèque publique mais aussi une bibliothèque patrimoniale qui agit pour la promotion de la langue et de la culture occitanes. Association à la base, cet organisme devient en 1999 un établissement public doté de plus de 100 000 documents principalement issus de donations.

L’établissement possède des fonds qui vont du 13ème siècle à nos jours et ce sur tout type de supports audio, vidéo, manuscrit, imprimé (ces deux derniers constituant la majorité des fonds).
Benjamin Assié, conservateur de cet établissement interrégional, nous explique son travail d’étude et de promotion d’un patrimoine commun à 10 régions européennes (8 régions françaises,1 région italienne, 1 région espagnole) détentrices de cette culture occitane.

La raison d’être de cette institution est de représenter et promouvoir la langue et la culture occitanes auprès d’un public le plus large possible. Objectif ambitieux lorsque le centre lui-même n’est présent que sur un lieu (Béziers) qui n’est pas une capitale régionale. Pour réussir ce pari, le média Internet était la solution qui permettait d’informer et de présenter la richesse de cette culture et des fonds liés à l’Occitanie en abolissant les contraintes géographiques et physiques.

Benjamin Assié

Conservateur du CIRDOC - Médiathèque

Challenges

Avant de pouvoir lancer cette bibliothèque virtuelle numérique, il a fallu mettre en place un programme de numérisation ambitieux car intégrant des fonds présents sur l’ensemble des régions.
Le projet Occitanica est alors lancé et financé par la région Languedoc-Roussillon et la Ville de Béziers, les deux collectivités à l’origine du CIRDOC, et reçoit le soutien du Ministère de la Culture (DREST), des régions Aquitaine, Midi-Pyrénées, Rhône-Alpes et Poitou-Charentes.
Le CIRDOC s’appuie dès 2009 sur le prestataire de service Arkhênum, pour pouvoir numériser ses fonds propres mais aussi ceux des établissements partenaires.

CIRDOC

Numériser pour mieux partager

Le CIRDOC Numérise 100 000 pages par an

La numérisation des documents en partenariat avec les institutions de toutes les régions a été générateur inévitablement de complexité en termes de mise en oeuvre et de gestion de la prestation de services. Le CIRDOC s’en est donc remis à Arkhênum pour gérer la collecte des fonds dispersés géographiquement, leur gestion dans ses différents centres de numérisation ainsi que la partie post-traitement des images et données.
Cette multiplicité d’établissements sous entendait bien sûr des fichiers en double exemplaire avec des besoins spécifiques (fichiers MIX, cadrage intérieur et extérieur, OCR Alto et OCR en Occitan…).
Arkhênum a réalisé cette opération dès le début avec comme finalité la mise en ligne de ces données dans une bibliothèque numérique collective.
Pour continuer sur sa lancée et impliquer encore plus les utilisateurs, le CIRDOC a mis en place un formulaire de « numérisation à la demande » à destination des chercheurs pour qu’ils désignent eux-mêmes les fonds futurs à numériser.

100 000

visiteurs uniques enregistrés dès la première année pour le site www.occitanica.eu.

+20%

de visiteurs physiques fréquentent la bibliothèque de Béziers principalement grâce à www.occitanica.eu selon son conservateur Benjamin Assié.

Lo CIRDOC
(Centre interrégional de développement de l’occitan)
1 bis boulevard Du-Guesclin, BP. 180 – 34503 Béziers – France
Tel : +33 (0)4 67 11 85 10
E-mail : secretariat@cirdoc.fr
Directeur : Benjamin Assié
Site internet : http://www.locirdoc.fr

Contrat rempli !

La plus belle des récompenses vient du fait que des personnes étrangères à la langue et à la culture occitanes viennent découvrir celles-ci sur place ou en ligne. Mais bien sûr les occitans sont les premiers à s’approprier cette vitrine universelle de leur patrimoine.
Et ils expriment leur satisfaction lors de leurs visites à la bibliothèque mais aussi sur les réseaux sociaux du centre (Facebook, twitter).
Face au succès rencontré par cette politique dynamique, les élus locaux ont décidé de renouveler leur confiance à l’institution et les moyens engagés par le passé. La presse s’en fait l’écho et les références sur le site Occitanica se multiplient ce qui contribue à accroitre sa visibilité et boucle le cercle vertueux.

Télécharger le cas pratique

Vous souhaitez savoir comment atteindre vos objectifs ? Discutons en

Sélectionnez votre / vos besoin(s) suivant

Tous les champs marqués d'une * sont obligatoires Précédent